Book: The One True God (by Paul Washer)

The One True God (Book)It is not an overstatement when I say, the study of the doctrine of God is one of the most important studies a Christian can engage in.  In fact, it is a study that all Christians should take up.  Something I like to say is, a biblical knowledge of God leads to a biblical knowledge of man, which in turn leads to a biblical knowledge of Christ and the cross.  These are foundational doctrines, and the doctrine of God is preeminent.

Paul Washer’s book, The One True God, is a wonderful resource to help God’s people in this most important study.  Perhaps what is most significant about this book is its format.  It’s not your typical book.  You can’t just sit down, kick up your feet and read.  That may turn many people off, but please keep reading.  Paul Washer wants the Christian to go beyond reading and to enter the realm of studying.  He forces you to look up key Scriptures, think through them, and then communicate the truths they proclaim.  In fact, this book is more of a workbook (emphasis on work).  Read with pen or pencil in hand!  While this may turn many off, we must be willing to put effort into such an important study.  We must be willing to diligently think through this doctrine.  Washer’s words are helpful and pointed [from the Introduction]:

The study of doctrine is both an intellectual and devotional discipline.  It is a passionate search for God that should always lead the student to greater personal transformation, obedience, and heartfelt worhsip.  Therefore, the student should be on guard against the great error of seeking only impersonal knowledge, and not the person of God.  Neither mindless devotion nor mere intellectual pursuits are profitable, for in either case, God is lost.

In other words, the point of such a study isn’t simply to make you more knowledgeable about biblical facts about God, but to draw you closer to the God of whom you are studying about.  This study , if performed with a humble heart and true faith, will indeed draw you closer to God, transform the way you look at life, and mature your worship.

There are fourteen chapters in the book:

1. God Is One
2. God Is Spirit
3. God Is Great and Perfect
4. God Is Eternal, Self-Existent, and Immutable
5. God Is Omnipotent, Omnipresent, and Omniscient
6. God Is Holy
7. God Is Righteous
8. God Is True and Truthful
9. God Is Faithful
10. God Is Love
11. God Is Creator and Sustainer
12. God Is Lord Over All
13. God Is Lawgiver and Judge
14. The Names of God


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s